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Do You Think You Have Fathered A Child? Could You Be A Dad? 
Don’t Be Left Out Of The Picture Or Your Child’s Life! 

 
If you think you may have fathered a child, there are a few things you should know about protecting your rights. 
 
What Is The Virginia Putative Father Registry?  
Virginia’s Putative Father Registry is a confidential database designed to protect the rights of a putative father. You 
are considered a putative father, if:  
■ you are not married to the child’s mother; or  
■ a court has not determined that you are the child’s father; or  
■ you have not signed a written agreement acknowledging you are the child’s father; or  
■ you have not adopted the child. 
 
Here are a few points to remember about Virginia’s Putative Father Registry:  
■ Timely registration entitles you to notification of termination of parental rights or adoption proceedings for a child 
you may have fathered. 
■ Registration may be used to help establish paternity, but does not start the legal process to establish paternity. 
 
Who Created The Virginia Putative Father Registry?  
The 2006 General Assembly passed into law Section 63.2-1249, which established the Putative Father Registry with 
the Virginia Department of Social Services. The purpose of the registry is to protect the rights of a putative father who 
wants to be notified in the event of a proceeding for adoption of, or the termination of parental rights regarding a child 
he may have fathered. 
 
Why Register?  
If you think you may have fathered a child – you can protect your rights as a parent by registering. Don’t miss out on 
the opportunity to play an important role in your child’s life. By registering, you take one step toward proving you’re 
the father of the child and protect your rights in the event the child is placed for adoption.  
 
How Does The Virginia Putative Father Registry Work?  
Simply fill out the registration form, sign and mail it to the Virginia Department of Social Services.  
Putative fathers can register: before the birth of a child; or within 10 days of the birth of the child; or within 10 days 
from the mailing of notice to register; or within 10 days of discovery of fraud by the birth mother.  
 
Putative fathers, who fail to register, waive the following rights concerning a child you may have fathered: 
■ to be notified regarding termination of parental rights procedures; or 
■ to be notified of adoption proceedings; or 
■ to consent to an adoption. 
 
 

 



         Frequently Asked Questions          
 
 
  
Is there a cost to register with The Virginia Putative Father Registry? 
There is no cost to register with the Virginia Putative Father Registry.  However you will need to pay for postage to 
mail your registration form. 
 
What if the conception or birth of the child occurred in another state? 
If the conception or birth occurred in state another state you should register in that state if they have a Putative Father 
Registry, in addition to registering with The Virginia Putative Father Registry. 
 
What if I or the mother of the child are younger than 18? 
You can register if you are younger than 18.  Parental permission is not needed for minors to be registered with The 
Virginia Putative Father Registry. 
 
Do you have to be a U.S. citizen to register with The Virginia Putative Father Registry? 
No you do not have to be a U.S. citizen to register with The Virginia Putative Father Registry.  Just complete the 
application form and mail the application to the Virginia Putative Father Registry. 
 
If I register with The Virginia Putative Father Registry will this prove that I am the biological father of the 
child? 
Registering with The Virginia Putative Father Registry does not prove that you are the biological father of the child 
that you registered for.  You must establish paternity to prove that you are the biological father of the child. 
 
Who has access to my registration? 
The Virginia Putative Father Registry is a confidential database, only the following entities can have access to obtain 
information from The Virginia Putative Father Registry: the mother of the child; an attorney representing a party in a 
termination of parental rights or an adoption proceeding; a party to an adoption; a child-placing agency; court or 
person designated by the court; other states putative father registries; support enforcement; and any agency 
authorized by law. 
 
Should I register with The Virginia Putative Father Registry, if my child was born before July 1, 2007?  
You can register if you are a putative father. 
 
What if I change my mind and would like to have my registration removed from The Virginia Putative Father 
Registry? 
You can withdraw or rescind your registration by completing another registration form and checking the withdrawn 
registration box at the top of the registration form. 
 
How often should I register with The Virginia Putative Father Registry? 
You may register as many times as you would like for each potential pregnancy or different child. If you have multiple 
relationships with the same person or more than one female that you are involved with you need to register for each.  
If you have multiple relationships with the same person you can indicate the time period on the registration from in the 
space provided in the dates of possible conception. 
 
What other service can assist me in establishing paternity? 
The Virginia Paternity Establishment Program can assist you in establishing paternity.  Contact them at 1-866-398-
4841 to learn more information about how to establish paternity through a voluntary process. 
 
 
 
 


