From: Licensing [mailto:DSS_LICENSING@LISTSERV.COV.VIRGINIA.GOV] On Behalf Of Williams,
Edwina (VDSS)

Sent: Wednesday, August 03, 2016 12:01 PM

To: DSS_Licensing

Subject: Virginia Preservice Training for Child Care Staff

This file with attachments are being sent to providers of child day centers, family
day homes, voluntarily registered family day homes, family day systems,
religiously exempt child day centers, certified preschools and short-term child day
centers from the Virginia Department of Social Services Email Distribution Service.

***Please do not reply to this email.***

There’s a NEW child care training course in town! The Virginia Department of Social
Services’ Child Care and Early Childhood Development Division announces a FREE,
10-hour training course that will count toward required Licensing and Subsidy training
hours. This course was developed in partnership with Pennsylvania State University’s
Better Kid Care Program. The course is called, “Virginia Preservice Training for Child
Care Staff”. This course is required for all child care staff members who work in a
program that receives Virginia Subsidy Funds and have direct contact with children
(teachers, assistant teachers, aides, bus drivers, cooks, administrators, etc.).

Please read more on the attached announcement about how to access the FREE course.
All child care practitioners are encouraged to take this FREE training in order to stay

current on health and safety information, as well as to help standardize the body of
knowledge and skills in Virginia’s child care workforce.

SCROLL DOWN TO VIEW ATTACHMENTS



COMMONWEALTH of VIRGINIA

DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL SERVICES

DATE: August 2, 2016

TO: Licensed Child Day Centers
Licensed Family Day Homes
Voluntarily Registered Family Day Homes
Licensed Family Day System
Religious Exempt Child Day Centers
Certified Preschools
Short-Term Child Day Centers

FROM: Charlene Vincent, Director, Division of Licensing-Children's
Programs

SUBJECT: Virginia Preservice Training for Child Care Staff

This memo provides information on the FREE online Virginia Preservice Training for
Child Care Staff, hosted by Pennsylvania State University's Better Kid Care Program,
which will be available to all child care staff beginning August 1, 2016.

Virginia is launching a FREE 10-hour training course, "Virginia Preservice Training for
Child Care Staff" that covers health and safety training on the following topics:

*Foundations of child development;

*Transportation safety;

sIntroduction to inclusion and working with children who have special needs;
*Recognition and reporting of child abuse and neglect;

*Prevention of shaken baby syndrome;

*Prevention and control of infectious diseases (including immunization);
*Prevention of Sudden Infant Death Syndrome and safe sleep practices;
*Administration of medication consistent with parental consent;

*Prevention of and response to food and other allergies;

*Building and physical premises safety;

*Handling and storage of hazardous materials and biocontaminants;
*Emergency preparedness and response planning from natural or man-made events;
*Nutrition and physical activity;
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*Oral health; and
Introduction to Virginia’s Child Care Subsidy Program and Becoming a Licensed
Program

Health and safety preservice training is required by the federal Child Care and
Development Block Grant Act of 2014 and the proposed federal child care regulation for
ALL staff members working in a child care program (including bus drivers, cooks, and
anyone who comes into contact with children) that accepts Virginia Dept. of Social
Services Subsidy funding.

The Division of Licensing- Children's Programs is proposing in regulations that all staff
in licensed child day centers and licensed family day homes with direct care
responsibility for children take this course in order to ensure consistency in the quality of
training and care received in all licensed programs. This licensing requirement, if
approved, would apply to all licensed child day centers and licensed family day homes,
even if the program does not receive subsidy funding; and may count towards staff
annual training requirements in the year the course is completed.

Quality child care is often correlated with well-trained staff. Improving the quality of
training for staff and individuals caring for children is a step forward in Virginia's
initiative to improve the quality of care children receive.

Providers and child care staff have an opportunity to take the class now for free! The
Division of Licensing- Children's Programs strongly encourages providers to take
advantage of this opportunity, even if the program does not receive subsidy funding.

To access the VIRGINIA CHILD CARE PRESERVICE TRAINING, visit:
https://bkc.vmhost.psu.edu/fmi/iwp/cgi?-db=BKC-OnDemand&-loadframes
If you have any questions, please contact your licensing inspector.
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Virginia Preservice Training
For Child Care Staff

. Beginningin August 2016, the Virginia Department of Social Services (VDSS) will post a new, free,
mandatory online course, “Virginia Preservice Training for Child Care Staff,” for all staff members
working in a child care program that accepts VDSS subsidy funding. Health and safety preservice
training is required by the federal Child Care and Development Block Grant Act of 2014 and the
proposed federal child care regulation. Age-relevant Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation and First Aid
training are required for each staff member in programs receiving subsidy funds, in addition to this
preservice training. For child care staff working for a program that does NOT receive subsidy funding,
this course, CPR and First Aid training are strongly encouraged.

The Virginia Preservice Training is a free, ten-hour course covering the following topics:

© Foundations of child development; Transportation safety;

© Introduction to Inclusion and working with children who have special needs;

© Recognition and reporting of child abuse and neglect; Prevention of shaken baby syndrome;
© Prevention and control of infectious diseases (including immunization);

© Prevention of Sudden Infant Death Syndrome and safe sleep practices;

© Administration of medication consistent with parental consent;

© Emergency preparedness and response planning from natural or man-made events;

© Introduction to Virginia’s Child Care Subsidy Program and Becoming a Licensed Program;

Q© and much more!
Link to the TRAINING:
https://bkc.vmhost.psu.edu/fmi/iwp/cgi?-db=BKC-OnDemand&-loadframes

Available August 1, 2016 —June 30, 2018: New Staff must complete this training before
working with children; Existing Staff must complete this training within 90 days of signing a
new Subsidy Vendor Agreement.

Staff may start/stop the course multiple times while working through the material. Internet
connection and a unique email address are needed in order to register. This training will count
toward your required training hours.

Training is provided by the Virginia Dept. of Social Services, Division of Child Care and Early Childhood Development with
Pennsylvania State University’s Better Kid Care Program, in accordance with the federal Child Care and Development Fund from the
U.S. Administration for Children and Families.
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