Dortch, Sorya (VDSS)

From: Williams, Edwina (VDSS)

Sent: Tuesday, November 27, 2012 9:08 AM

To: Dortch, Sonya (VDSS)

Subject: FW: VDSS Memo to Providers concerning - Consumer Product Safety Commission (CPSC)

Mandatory Standards for Cribs

From: Williams, Edwina (VDSS) [mailto:edwina.williams@dss.virginia.gov]
Sent: Tuesday, November 27, 2012 8:03 AM

To: licensinglistserv@virginiainteractive.org
Subject: VDSS Memo to Providers concerning - Consumer Product Safety Commission (CPSC) Mandatory Standards for

Cribs

This file is being sent to you from the Virginia Department of Social Services Email Distribution
Service.

***Please do not reply to this email . ***

DATE:
TO:

FROM:

November 26, 2012

Licensed Child Day Centers

Licensed Family Day Homes

Voluntarily Registered Family Day Homes
Family Day System Homes

Religious Exempt Child Day Centers
Children’s Residential Facilities

Lynne A. Williams, Director
Division of Licensing Programs

SUBJECT: Consumer Product Safety Commission (CPSC) Mandatory Standards for Cribs

How will the CPSC mandatory standards for cribs affect licensees?

This CPSC requirement applies to all child care facilities, family day homes and any places of public
accommodation affecting commerce.
Beginning December 28, 2012, the Virginia Department Social Services’ licensing inspectors will begin
enforcing this requirement and verifying the licensee/provider’s compliance with the new federal
mandatory crib standards.
If a licensee/provider is found to have a crib that is not in compliance with the new federal
mandatory standards for full-size cribs (16 CFR 1219) and non-full-size cribs (16 CFR 1220), a
violation will be cited.
Failure to comply with the CPSC new mandatory federal standards for full-size and non-full-size cribs may
result in civil action taken by the Consumer Product Safety Commission. If the licensing inspector does not
receive documentation of compliance from the provider within 30 days of the citation, the licensing inspector
will refer the non-compliance to the CPSC and the provider may be subject to CPSC penalties and fines.

1



“Pursuant to Section 20 of the Consumer Product Safety Act, 15 U.S.C. § 2069, CPSC may assess
civil penalties of up to $100,000 per violation of the CPSA. In addition, pursuant to Section 21
of the CPSA, 15 U.S.C. § 2070, such violations could subject you and your firm to criminal
penalties including imprisonment for not more than five (5) years, a fine, and forfeiture of
assets associated with the violation(s).”

What do licensees need to do?

e The new mandatory CPSC safety standards require that all child care facilities must comply with
these new safety standards by December 28, 2012.

e |t will be the licensee/provider’s responsibility to provide the licensing inspector with documentation
to verify that all cribs that are in use are compliant with the new federal safety standards.

e Iltisillegal under this federal law for child care facilities to resell, donate or give away a crib that does
not meet the new crib standards. CPSC recommends disassembling the crib before discarding it. Parts
of the cribs can be repurposed for uses other than as a crib.

What documentation is acceptable as verification of compliance?
There are 3 documentation options that may be used to determine compliance:

1. Certificate provided by the manufacturer or retailer: If the crib was purchased prior to and
manufactured before June 28, 2011, a Children’s Product Certificate (CPC) or test report from a

CPSC-accepted 3™ party lab is required in order to demonstrate compliance with 16 C.F.R. Part 1219
or C.F.R. Part 1220.

OR
2. Manufacture date based on the required tracking label on the crib. If the tracking label on the crib

indicates that the crib was manufactured after June 28, 2011, CPSC would not require additional
certification documentation.
OR

3. Manufacture date based on the registration card which is required to accompany the crib.

Even though the law requires manufacturers and retailers to make and sell only cribs that meet these new

federal crib rules beginning June 28, 2011, CPSC has said that a dated receipt of purchase alone is not
enough to indicate compliance.

For additional information please visit the CPSC website: http://www.cpsc.gov/info/cribs/index.html



