
VIRGINIA DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL SERVICES 
DIVISION OF LICENSING PROGRAMS 

       
 PART II:  PROGRAM ADDENDUM TO APPLICATION FOR LICENSURE OF A 
CHILD-PLACING AGENCY 
 
NAME OF CHILD-PLACING AGENCY:        
 
OPERATING INFORMATION 
 
Executive Director (Name):          Title        Phone         Fax Number         Email       
 
Agency contact person, if not Executive Director (Name):       Title        Phone         Fax 
Number         Email       
 
 
 
POPULATION and SERVICES 
 
LICENSE REQUESTED FOR:  
 
Maximum Number of Children (to be served at any one time): _____   
           
Gender: Males ______ Females ______ Both_______  
 
Will the agency accept custody of children (choose one):    Y N 
 
Ages served: Minimum (no less than birth) _____ Maximum (no greater than 17) ______  
 
Services provided (Check all that apply):  

Foster Care_____ Treatment Foster Care ______        Short-Term Foster Care_______ 

Permanent Foster Care______    Independent Living Arrangements_____  

Adoption (specify, i.e., agency placement, parental  placement, inter-country) __________________________  

____________________________________________________________________________________________             
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REQUIRED ATTACHMENTS FOR INITIAL APPLICATION Attachments 
Provided 

Attachments Required in Part I, Section 2: 
• Reference Letters for each individual listed in Part I, Section 2 of the application 

(Type of Business Entity under “Identifying Information”) 
 

• Personal Qualifying Information Forms (if applicable) each individual listed in Part 
I, Section 2 of the application (Type of Business Entity under “Identifying 
Information”) 

 

NOTE: For each individual listed in Part I, Section 2 of the application (Type of Business Entity under 
“Identifying Information”), the following original documents must be available at the facility for 
inspection: 

• Sworn Disclosure Statement completed within the last 90 days 
• Criminal History Record Report obtained from the state police within the last 90 days 
• Child Protective Services Central Registry Check obtained from the Virginia Department of 

Social Services within the last 90 days 
• Business Entity Legal Documents (articles of incorporation, certificate of 

organization, etc.) 
 

• Annual Operating Budget  
• Credit Reference  
FEE (payable to: “Treasurer of Virginia”)  

Attachments Required in Part II (Program Addendum): 
1. Name of the management company that operates the agency, if other than the 

licensee. 
 

2. A copy of the agency’s fee schedule for each program including a description of 
the services covered by the fees and the agency’s refund policy, if any. 

 

3. As applicable, a foster care program statement as required by standards, a short-
term foster care program statement, a treatment foster care program statement as 
required by standards, an adoption program statement as required by standards, 
and an independent living placement program statement. 

 

4. Staff Information Sheet listing all staff employed and volunteering in the child-
placing program.  (In addition to executive, administrative, supervisory, and 
child-placing staff, this list must include but is not limited to student interns, 
trainees, mentors, transporters, recruiters, trainers, clerical support, etc.  Please 
include full-time, part-time, and contract workers). 

 

5. A description of the duties and responsibilities of each job classification, i.e., 
job descriptions. 

 

6. Work and educational requirements for executive director and program director, 
i.e., resumes. 

 

7. Address, telephone number and written directions.  
8. Days and hours of operation.  
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REQUIRED ATTACHMENTS FOR RENEWAL APPLICATION Attachments 
Provided 

1. For any new individuals listed in Part I, Section 2 of the application (Type of 
Business Entity under “Identifying Information”), an original Sworn Disclosure 
Statement.    No Change    Change previously reported    

 

2. For any new individuals listed in Part I, Section 2 of the application (Type of 
Business Entity under “Identifying Information”), an original Criminal History 
Record Report obtained from the state police.   No Change    Change 
previously reported    

 

3. For any new individual listed in Part I, Section 2 of the application (Type of 
Business Entity under “Identifying Information”), an original Child Protective 
Services Central Registry Check obtained from the Virginia Department of Social 
Services.  No Change    Change previously reported    

 

NOTE: For any individuals (other than new individuals) listed in Part I, Section 2 of the application 
(Type of Business Entity under “Identifying Information”), the most recent original of the following 
documents must be available at the facility for inspection: 

- Sworn Disclosure Statement  
- Criminal History Record Report obtained from the state police  
- Child Protective Services Central Registry Check obtained from the Virginia Department of Social 

Services 
4. For any new individuals listed in Part I, Section 2 of the application (Type of 

Business Entity under “Identifying Information”), reference letters dated no more 
than 12 months prior to this application from three people not related to the person 
who can certify to his/her character and reputation.   No Change     Change 
previously reported    

 

5. For any new individuals listed in Part I, Section 2 of the application (Type of 
Business Entity under “Identifying Information”), Personal Qualifying Information 
Form if within the last 10 years the individual served as a voting officer, director, or 
principal stockholder in any child-welfare, assisted living, adult day care center, 
nursing home or mental health facility, program or agency requiring licensure in 
Virginia or in any other state.   No Change     Change previously reported    

 

6. If a management company operates the agency rather than the licensee, the name of 
the new management company if the management company has changed since the  
last license was issued.    No Change      Change previously reported    

 

7. A copy of all new or revised forms.    No Change      Change previously 
reported    

 

8. Staff Information Sheet listing all staff employed and volunteering in the child-
placing program.  (In addition to executive, administrative, supervisory, and child-
placing staff, this list must include but is not limited to student interns, trainees, 
mentors, transporters, recruiters, trainers, clerical support, etc.  Please include full-
time, part-time, and contract workers).   

 

9. Job descriptions added or changed since last license was issued.  
 No Change    Change previously reported    

 

10. A report of major changes in programs or facilities during the past year or 
contemplated for the coming year.  Include copies of revisions to program 
statements and policies and procedures.   

 No Change    Change previously reported    
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REQUIRED ATTACHMENTS FOR RENEWAL APPLICATION Attachments 
Provided 

11. If changed since the agency’s last license was issued, a copy of the agency’s fee 
schedule for each program including a description of the services covered by the 
fees and the agency’s refund policy, if any.   No change to the agency’s fee 
schedule or refund policy    Change previously reported    

 

12. If the previous license was provisional, a statement showing which requirements 
listed as conditions of the provisional license were met and, if not met, the plan for 
meeting them.  Previous license was not provisional.    

 

13. Address, telephone number and written directions if changed since last license was 
issued.  No Change    Change previously reported    

 

14. Days and hours of operation if changed since last license was issued.  No Change  
  Change previously reported 

 

FEE (payable to: “Treasurer of Virginia”)  
 
 
Please send the complete application, which includes 1) Part I: Applicant Information and all 
required attachments; 2) Part II: CPA Addendum to the Application and all required attachments; 
and 3) $70 application fee to: 

 
Virginia Department of Social Services 
Child Welfare Unit, ATTN: Application Processing 
1604 Santa Rosa Road, Suite 130 
Henrico, VA 23229 
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